The definition of love

When you think about the word love what is the first thing that comes to your mind? Is it a family member? Is it someone you are dating? Is it a pet? Is it a hobby? What is it? That is something I find so interesting about the word love, that no matter what it is that comes to your mind everyone has that one thing that is their own definition of love. Now when I think about the word love I think of a number of things, but most importantly I think about it in the way that is romance. I can not begin to explain how much I adore all things romance. I am basically a teenage girl trapped inside of a 6’1 male body. You know how women just sit there and cry while shoving their faces with a carton of ice cream while Nicholas Sparks tears their hearts apart, well that is me, but as a gay man.

However, I am not sad. I am so wrapped up with love lately that I have nothing to be upset about. I wake up everyday knowing that I love myself, I love my boyfriend, I love my family, I love my friends, I love everything I do in life and that is what truly makes the start of my day so amazing. Love is such a strong feeling and I wish it upon everyone. I know that it can get tough at times and you truly believe that nobody will ever love you or that you may never find true love, but this isn’t a fairy tale. Love isn’t like the movies at all. I have definitely been around the block and back when it comes to my fair share of relationships and let me tell you, they are tougher than anything I have ever experienced.¬†Relationships aren’t just about your happiness as an individual, they are also about your partners happiness. Most people can be very selfish in a relationship and I can tell you that from experience. I have been told on numerous occasions that I am selfish and that is something I had to learn to fix about myself. Now being in a relationship doesn’t mean you have to change yourself into another human being, but it does mean that you have to adjust your lifestyle to mold with your partners. If you are used to going out every night and you get yourself involved with someone who doesn’t do that it may be a tough balance at first, but maybe you’ll learn that you don’t have to go out to have fun. Maybe you will learn that staying in and cooking dinner with that someone or hosting a movie night with some friends may be a better option for the both of you.

I can sit here and try to say that I wish I had love like they have in the movies, but like I mentioned before, that isn’t reality. With happiness comes negativity and that is something everyone who has ever experienced love has felt. You can’t go every day with the constant state of happiness because we are humans and we often make mistakes, we get jealous, we like to prove we are right, we like attention, and we like to relieve stress. Don’t ever let the negativity outweigh the happiness because at the end of the day you can always fix negativity, but you can never make up happiness. Especially if it is with someone you want to create happy memories with.

There comes a point in your life where you’ll realize that dating can be completely tiring and the constant stage of wanting someone else can be overwhelming but I promise that if you just take a deep breath, relax, and enjoy what life is bringing you that love will come. Whether that form of love be a hobby, taking care of a pet, spending time with family and friends, or simply just looking at yourself in the mirror, I promise it will come. Now I am not sitting here saying that I am some sort of love guru and that everything I say is correct, but from personal experience I know that the love I am receiving and the love I have to give I got from everything I just told you. I have goals set for myself and I know exactly what I want in life and I expect you to do the same. Create your own definition of love.

Leave a Reply

